Hello! My name is Lindsay Stella. Thank you for taking the time to start reading what I intend to be an informative, easy to understand, and sometimes humorous blog on the issues that people face when presented with a divorce, custody issue, or post-divorce problems. I am a fifth year Senior Associate Attorney at a primarily Family Law firm in the Western suburbs of Chicago.  I have handled almost every type of family law matter possible, but I am certainly not claiming to know everything!  I am open to any thoughts or opinions on anything that I write!  I’m a lawyer…I love a good argument…I mean, discussion.

Most of what I write will be advice based upon my experience practicing in  DuPage  and Kane County.  I will reference most of the tough issues that my clients bring up to me because I think these are the things that are perplexing and difficult to somebody new to the specific process they may be enduring,

A little about me? I am a working mom of two little boys.  My husband works in sales. We have been married five years. We live in the Western suburbs of Chicago and love every minute of our hectic lives.

I was recently named one of the Top 10 Most Influential Suburban Moms by Glancer Magazine, named a Super Lawyer’s Rising Star in 2014 and 2015, Top 10 Family Law Attorneys Under 40 in Illinois by the National Association of Family Law Attorneys, Top 10 Family Law Attorneys Under 40 for Client Satisfaction by the American Institute of Family Law Attorneys, was appointed to the Illinois State Bar Association’s Family Law Committee and assisted in drafting the new Illinois Divorce Legislation, and I have a 10.0 Rating on Avvo for client satisfaction and professional reputation….so hopefully all of these awards and experiences give me a little credibility.

My plan is to write at least two blogs a week. As I stated earlier, I will try to add a little humor where I can because this time in your life will likely be the one of the most difficult. This blog will be sympathetic at times and harsh at others.

I have also found in my practice that many people have something in their life that they reference as “before x” and “after x”.  For many, a divorce or custody dispute may qualify as that dividing line.  Remember though, a divorce, separation, or custody dispute does not have to be difficult.  I have seen many cases of amicable separations which I encourage whole heartedly.  At times I have simply sat down with both parties and finished an agreement in a day.  So there are horror stories, yes, but this process will be what you make it.

And now for all the legal disclaimers we all hate (yes, even lawyers hate them)…nothing herein should be considered in place of tailored legal advice to your specific case.  Furthermore, no attorney/client relationship can exist between us merely because you read my blog.

If you would like to meet and obtain a free 60 minute consultation, please contact my office: Mirabella, Kincaid, Frederick & Mirabella, LLC.  1737 S. Naperville Road, Suite 100, Wheaton, IL 60189 (630) 665-7300, http://www.matrimoniallawdupagecounty.com

568-Lindsay

